On Retirement

On Friday afternoon, May 31, 2014, I walked out of my office at the NSLC headquarters for the last time as Vice-President, Government & Public Affairs/Corporate Secretary. That brought to an end a little over 32 years of employment with the Province of Nova Scotia, which began in the spring of 1982 at the Victoria General Hospital, and which then took me to the Department of Municipal Affairs, followed by stints at Finance, the Priorities and Planning Secretariat, and Tourism and Culture before ending up at the NSLC. Retirement is not something you have a lot of practice at doing, and now that I’ve come to the end of 2014 and moved into 2015, what will be my first full year of retirement, I thought I’d reflect on the last 6-plus months of not working for a living.

At first, not getting up and going to work everyday felt just like an extended vacation. The fact that it was starting to be summer helped a lot in that regard. And there was no doubt that I needed a vacation from it all. After adding the Communications and Public Affairs role to my existing Corporate Secretary job in early 2013, work life had been hectic. I was thrown in at the deep end when, about a week after starting in the new role, NSLC had the great price change debacle over the Easter weekend at the end of March, 2013. You might remember that – price changes that were supposed to kick in on April 1st instead were mistakenly sent to store systems after close of business overnight prior to our stores being closed for Good Friday on March 29th, and we collected a bit over $27,000 in extra revenue on Saturday. It hit the media before anyone internally knew exactly how it had occurred, and then to make matters worse, Jamie Baillie decided to make it a political issue by saying some foolishness about how an investigation into the whole thing was required because we had obviously done it on purpose. Sure, we’ll tell the world we’re raising prices on Monday, but we’ll intentionally slip it in on Saturday before a holiday instead, because nobody will ever notice, right? It’s beyond idiotic, but that’s what can happen when you give an opposition politician a voice sometimes.

We recovered nicely from that, I thought, when we decided to give the extra money to a charity and set up a quick online poll to help people chose. We nominated 4 charitable organizations, although even that wasn’t easy – our original list had one high-profile charity for whom our staff had collected huge sums of money over the years, and we thought they would be a no-brainer. Imagine our surprise when they said no, they weren’t interested in our offer. I was steamed, to be honest, and I still don’t fully understand why they said no. But in the end it all worked out, with the money going to the Canadian Mental Health Association, despite an attempt by some well-meaning but misguided person to stuff the online ballot box in favor of another organization, and a few overly-cynical voices on social media claiming it was all a pre-planned stunt. I guess no good deed goes unpunished. But the local reps from CMHA were very grateful and sincere in their thanks, so I felt good about it when it was all done.

From there it seemed like we went from crisis to crisis for a while, struggling with a new Minister who seemed to have difficulty understanding the business data we presented, and who was not at all comfortable with the NSLC role in balancing retail sales with social responsibility. She even took the rather extreme step of directing us to pull a social responsibility campaign just prior to it kicking off because she didn’t seem to understand it – not that we were asking for her approval anyway, since we had a Board of Directors to make those decisions. Unfortunately for us, the NDP government was in its last days prior to calling an election and they were hyper-sensitive to anything at that point. Shortly thereafter was some additional foolishness incited by the good folks at Capital Health, who accused both the NSLC and Molson of doing advertising directed at children – us with a billboard that included the tagline “Cocktail, anyone?” and Molson for posting a picture of a glass filled with their cider which the anti-alcohol zealots said looked like apple juice and hence was aimed at kids. I mean, you couldn’t make this stuff up if you tried, but there it was, and we had to go into explainer mode yet again.

Things settled down a bit after the new government came in, although there was the usual extra work involved in preparing briefings and backgrounders on all the things a new government and a new Minister require to get up to speed. In November of 2013, the Department of Health then released the badly flawed Alcohol Indicators Report I wrote about in “Bamboozled” which caused a lot of dust to be kicked up for a while, but the new government had other issues to worry about and soon things were back to a more normal pace for me. I found myself feeling increasingly frustrated when the requests for briefings on the same issues that I had previously prepared so many times for other Ministers and other governments over the years again landed on my desk. Add to that all the usual things expected of a V-P – the meetings, the HR issues, the business planning, you name it – and I decided I had enough. There comes a time when you just can’t do it any more, and this seemed to be that time. Over the 2013 Christmas holidays I decided that I would leave the NSLC sometime in the first half of the new year, and I let the President and Board know when I returned to the office in January.

The process of finding a successor took longer than we originally expected, so I ended up extending my departure date twice. The organization did a great job of sending me off, with various receptions, lunches and the like, and I left with good feelings for all and for the job I had done there. When I first arrived at the NSLC in 2001 it was a very different place than the one I left, and I felt proud of much of what we accomplished, especially for our local beer, wine, and spirit producers. That was part of my responsibilities almost from day one, and I always tried to make it easier for them to succeed and to keep barriers out of their way as much as I reasonably could. Almost immediately after leaving, I was asked to add my name to that of a group of consultants who were trying to get a contract from one of those local associations. With considerable reluctance, I agreed, but have to admit I was almost thankful when it didn’t happen. I really didn’t want to work again so soon, and it was not a problem from my point of view not to win the bid.

One of the things I wondered about on the way out the door was just how much I might be asked for help by those who remained. My successor is very capable, but we only overlapped our time for two weeks and there was no way to transfer all the knowledge she would need. But to my surprise, a couple of chats was all that transpired, so I can only assume she is finding the information she needs. Aside from being called back in one other time over the summer to get my picture taken for the Annual Report, and a couple of lunches with those with whom I was most close personally, there has been next to no contact with the organization. But as someone told me recently, it’s probably better than being pestered all the time, and they’re probably right. It’s quite different from still being there and going on vacation. These days, you never totally disconnect when on holidays even if you travel thousands of miles from home. I’ve finally disconnected.

What really shouldn’t be a surprise, but nevertheless is to an extent. was how so many relationships and contacts just ended when the job did. I know most people are busy trying to do their jobs or make money. But any illusions I may have had about a personal connection to many of those folks have quickly been laid to rest. With a few exceptions, there has been no contact at all. Maybe that’s normal, I don’t know. The NSLC has no vehicle for retirees to keep in touch with either each other or the organization. That’s really too bad, though not all that surprising I guess – when you leave, there really is little benefit to the organization for keeping you in the loop. There is a Nova Scotia government retirees association, but that is a very broad-ranging group and they really don’t relate very well to individual places of work. You would think that with Facebook or other forms of electronic communication these days someone would have created something, but if it exists, I haven’t been able to find it. In fact I have far more communication with my former Municipal Affairs colleagues, whom I left in 1998 but who maintain an informal coffee & lunch network, than I do with NSLC folks. Odd.

For the first few months, the quiet was welcomed. I never really expected this, but I think there was a lot more recuperation, recovery, adjustment – call it what you like – required for me than I ever knew I needed. I have absolutely no hard feelings towards the NSLC, because I had a great career there, but it was gruelling work sometimes, with things coming at you all the time and a lot of pressure, so it took its toll. Plus, after my heart surgery and subsequent complications over the winter of 2009/10, I went back to work sooner than I should have, and never really got over that the way I needed to. I think all those things made me require more downtime after I retired than I counted on. For the first few months I was sleeping all the time, and even now, my nightly sleep patterns are very different from what they once were. For years I was getting maybe 6 hours sleep a night if I was lucky. Work would always be on my mind, and I would toss and turn. Now I am consistently getting at least 7 hours, sometimes 8, every night. It’s great.

What really brought the difference in contact home to me was when the Christmas holidays approached. Working at the NSLC at any level, but especially at an executive level, made Christmas a crazy time. The number of things you were invited to and expected to attend was incredible. There were organization-wide events, early in my time there the traditional dinner/dance, then later on, a Sunday brunch that took its place. There was a Head Office lunch, held on the premises. There were also business unit lunches, workgroup gift exchanges, all the usual sort of things most workplaces have. In my case I would also get invited to whatever the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee decided to do each year to mark the holidays. Then there were the invitations from suppliers, which varied depending on where you worked, but always meant anywhere from a few to a great many invitations. It was actually hard to accommodate all of the social things that went on there over the holidays. For me this year, there were virtually none of those. I had a single work-related contact from one non-NSLC person over the holidays this year, plus a lunch invitation from one of my former staff. That was it. It was a strange mix of good and bad – I didn’t always enjoy all of those things when I was required to attend them, but now I felt funny not even being thought of. All part of the adjustment. I guess when you’re out, you’re really out.

People always asked me if I was going to work after I left the NSLC, and I always thought that I would after some time off. Now, I’m not so sure. I’m lucky in that I have a decent pension, live a fairly frugal lifestyle, and have always been a saver. My only dependents are 4 cats. My little house is paid for, and I am getting by just fine. My mindset about work has changed rather dramatically. I have discovered that even things I like doing are a bit of an irritation if they are imposed upon me now. I have always been good at amusing myself and keeping occupied, and now I have made it a bit of an occupation in itself. I like setting my own schedule, going where I want, when I want, and not having to adjust to other people’s schedules. Still, the lure of some extra cash is out there, and I might take up an opportunity or two to earn some if someone wants me to do a bit of consulting on an issue I know something about. But I don’t have to do it, and that’s a nice feeling.

Besides, it would make more sense for me to do that, something I am reasonably good at, rather than doing what I originally thought I would do with my time – working on my house. I have never been good at home improvement projects, have never really enjoyed that kind of work, and have generally not liked the results I have achieved. A close friend is very good at that, and he always said that he knows he can do a better job than most tradespeople he encounters, who are working to finish something as quickly as possible and don’t always care about quality of work. That may or may not be true, but I have botched enough small projects to know that it really isn’t something I like doing because I’m fairly inept at it. So it occurs to me that rather than spending time in retirement doing something that (a) I don’t enjoy and (b) I am not very good at, maybe I should instead do something that is the opposite of that. I always half-seriously threatened to write a book about my time at the NSLC, but that sounds pretty ambitious right now. Time will tell. As it is, I am still enjoying doing not much of anything. Retirement isn’t exactly what I expected it to be, but so far, I can highly recommend it.

This entry was posted in NSLC, retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

